WSOP Main Event Day 1B Report

The second of three opening days at the World Series of Poker $10,000 Main Event saw a further 2,114 players enter the fray, nearly twice the number that opted to make their entrance on the first day.  With the final opening day expected to attract an even bigger field, the overall number of entrants should be close to the 6,865 who stumped up the cash for the tournament last year.

Plenty of big names opted to enter on Day 1B, and as usual they endured mixed fortunes.  Vanessa Selbst has had a decent series, with one bracelet win and a couple of deep runs, and her form continued yesterday, helped by being on the right side of an AA v KK match-up on the very last hand of the night.  Her aces held, and she closed the day on 168,350 chips, good enough for third place on the day, and fourth overall so far.

Daniel Negreanu has had a pretty tough series, by contrast; although he has had four cashes, like Selbst, only one of them has resulted in a final table, and he has endured a lot of exits in other events.  Yesterday saw a little improvement, however, and he finished the session in a strong position, bagging up 140,575 chips.

Other players enjoying a good day included Jason Somerville, Maria Ho, Brian Hastings and Shaun Deeb, all of whom closed above the hundred thousand chip mark, while Day 2 will also feature Eugene Katchalov, Shawn Buchanan, Dan Harrington, Sam Farha, Barny Boatman, Erik Cajelais, Barry Greenstein, Neil Channing, Tom Schneider, David “ODB” Baker, Justin Bonomo, Andrew Lichtenberger, Ali Eslami, Mike McDonald, Erick Lindgren, Liv Boeree, last year’s runner-up Martin Staszko, Galen Hall, Layne Flack, Huck Seed, JC Tran, Eli Elezra, Roland De Wolfe, Andy Bloch, Robert Mizrachi, TJ Cloutier, Brian Rast and Erik Seidel, among many, many others.

Not everyone could make it through, however, and the list of those players who won’t be the 2012 Main Event winner includes Bertrand Grospellier, Scotty Nguyen, Men Nguyen, Andrey Pateychuk, Yevgeniy Timoshenko, Todd Brunson, Tom Dwan, Theo Jorgensen, Victor Ramdin and former winner Greg Raymer.

Short URL: http://www.eatmystack.co.uk/?p=1676

Posted by admin on Jul 9 2012. Filed under Latest News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

120x600 ad code [Inner pages]
- Virgin Bingo

Recently Commented